• MasterSplinger
    I've recently became very interested in the early works of Rudolf Steiner. I watched a video that discussed The Karma of Untruthfulness and found it fascinating. After some research I decided that particular book might be a bad one to start with. I instead picked up a copy of the first edition of The Philosophy of Freedom.

I confess I'm a bit of newbie when it comes to reading philosophy. In fact, I have rarely read anything that isn't a computer programming related book. As a result I'm struggling with the language of this particular book. It takes me an awfully long time to get through a couple of pages as I have to reread sentences and paragraphs. I also have to Google a lot of the words.

Is there any accompanying guide for this book that will help me understand it a little more?
  • unenlightened
    Steiner is not much regarded in academic philosophy - a bit too weird. Wiki has a longish article on the book, bur Stanford studiously ignores him, and Stanford is our Bible.

So I can only recommend following some of the wiki links to other philosophers, and keeping a weather eye out for 'woo'.
  • Akanthinos
    Stanford is your Bible? Yikes!Metaphysician Undercover

Well, Standford is not perfect, far from it, but there are few general access online ressources with the same degree of professionalism or depth.

Although, with time, this depth really does start to appear to be an illusion. There are articles which have been requested years ago which should never have taken more than a few months to write.

If you have a better ressource, please share it with the class. I'm sure my teachers are getting tired of seeing a dozen Stanford reference in every one of my bibliographies. :sweat:
  • Noble Dust