• Agustino
    Yes, I mean what ordinary people mean by intuition, not what Kant means . He uses words too weirdly for me.andrewk
    (1) What ordinary people mean by intuition cannot be used to defend Kant, who uses that word differently, and thus means different things by it than ordinary people.
    (2) The way ordinary people use "intuition" and others words that are derived from it is extremely vague. In ordinary language, an "intuition" is just when I throw up my hands and tell you "I know it is this way, but I can't say why". Very often, habit can entrench thoughts, principles, and the like in people's mind, and they easily recall them, and feel very certain in them, but are unable to give justification for them.

Yes. It may be, as you say, cos I'm a mathematician. Or maybe I'm a mathematician cos I look at things that way.andrewk
    Which way?
  • Moliere
    As far as I understand it "intuition" for Kant means something pretty close to what we would call 'perception'.Janus

I disagree with this, but I'll touch on it in replying to your third paragraph. Probably gets to the crux of our disagreement though.

You say "we are able to have synethic a priori knowledge about space due to our knowledge of geometry" but if this were true then it would not be "synthetic a priori knowledge" at all but synthetic a posteriori knowledge. I think it is more to the point that we are able to have knowledge of geometry due to our synthetic a priori knowledge of space. I think that is certainly what Kant thought.Janus

I don't disagree with that interpretation of Kant here. This is why I think non-Euclidean geometry is problematic, just not destructive to the aesthetic. It can be "saved", that is -- and still feel reasonable rather than ludicrous.