• TheQuestioner
    I have been a musician for more than 50 years. I am able to create any sound that I can imagine. But why bother?

The following reasons do not provide a reason to spend the time:
    1. Musical satisfaction: I have hundreds of CD's in every musical style, including jazz, classical, and every style of rock. Nothing that I can create could ever compete with this library. I can't create something that sounds better than Dark Side of the Moon, or Abbey Road.
    2. Recognition: I could spend two weeks creating an impressive recording that is clever and emotional. I could then post that recording on YouTube and SoundCloud, and receive a few hundred listens, and several favorable comments. So what?

Forty years ago, I was an in-demand studio keyboardist, partly because I owned the first polyphonic synthesizer ever made (the Prophet 5). Today, anyone can spend $95 for a digital audio workstation that is capable of creating a high quality film score.

Thousands of musicians are seeking success and recognition in the music business. Dozens of musical schools and colleges are encouraging their students to spend four years studying something that has very little demand in the job market. Major film producers only hire composers that have already achieved success,

In my opinion, the self-satisfaction of creating music does not justify the time it takes to create it. You listen to the piece that you created a few times, then it becomes forgotten.

I still enjoy playing classical and jazz on the piano, about 45 minutes each day. I have no aspirations for it to provide any monetary compensation or recognition whatsoever. I just enjoy doing it.
  • Noble Dust
    1. Musical satisfaction: I have hundreds of CD's in every musical style, including jazz, classical, and every style of rock. Nothing that I can create could ever compete with this library. I can't create something that sounds better than Dark Side of the Moon, or Abbey Road.TheQuestioner