• Philosophuser
    Hello. I was reading about the ideas of Multiverse and Block Universe and I got depressed. I'm not an expert on this stuff, It's possible I didn't understand it well, so I hope you could help me to clarify some things.

The Theory of Block Universe is an eternalism view of time, related to the Theory of Relativity, and says that past and future are as real as present, proposing that the universe is a 4-Dimensional block, static, things don't really move, time doesn't flow, every moment is like a photogram in a film, all this is just an illusion in your mind by your memories.

Does this mean that, in fact, time doesn't exist, and the universe is a lot of 3-D slices, totally unrelated, and the sense of continuity is just because you have memories from the previous instants? Does this imply that the atoms of an object "now" are not the same that those of the one second ago? Is it a new object just placed in the same location it was in the previous instants?

How does this affect to your "personal identity"? Does this means that the only "real" you is in this instant (every instant) and the "you" of yesterday or in an hour are anothers persons? Aren't they more or less you that an physical identical being (with the same memories), in another universe (if it exist) or in a far gallaxy?

The reason why this depressed me is because most of people believe that there are infinite parallel universes with a lot of versions of "you", with variations, some of then could had won the lottery, but some could have a hard life... I had never paid so much attention to this because, well, they are just not "you", even if they are identical, they are other persons with different lifes, you experience different things... But with this idea of BU, are they more different than the versions of your past/future? Are there reasons for care about to your future "you" and not to the others?

This is destressing me, I hope you could help me with this. Thanks you!
  • Grre