• guanyun
    I've just finished reading biblical philosophy. Is modern theology still trying to prove the existence of God by reason?
  • Book273
    I have found the greatest problem with most attempt to "prove" the existence of God is that the definition of "God" is not defined, and therefore, exceedingly problematic in proving. The anthropomorphized version of God is difficult to prove, as conceptually, the idea of it is ridiculous, therefore attempting to prove the ridiculous by way of reason is inherently flawed. How does one prove something by reason if it is not, at it's core, a reasonable concept?
  • guanyun
    Understand, I'm new to philosophy, I just still have questions about it after reading the philosophy of the scriptures.Now I got. Thank you for your reply.
  • The Questioning Bookworm

You bring up some good points, but just because something appears to be ridiculous does not mean there is an existence of something or not. Defining God is extremely important for the arguments, yet, from a logical standpoint, both arguments are inherently flawed based on the 'no evidence' presumptions. We cannot conclude the certainty of God existing or not based on the fact that we don't have evidence for either as well as mere logic. For instance, I can logically prove out that turtles fly but that doesn't mean that they can or not. So, with these for and against God arguments, there is always a jump and there is always faith in either side...
  • The Questioning Bookworm