• creativesoul

Understood. I've no where near enough knowledge of Plotinus to be of much help here. Just seemed like Spinoza successfully accomplished(contrary to his own aims) what Plotinus seems to have set out to do. So, I wondered if you agreed to that, trusting that you are familiar with Plotinus. Hence, my initial reply. If I had more time, I would spend some researching Plotinus, for the notion of monism interests me, despite not being able to agree with it.

:wink:

My own position demands a plurality of things. Beyond or 'beneath' that, I've no reason to believe that it is even possible for us to know much at all more about the origens of the universe. So, I stop when I've reached the limits...
  • Gus Lamarch
    Understood. I've no where near enough knowledge of Plotinus to be of much help here. Just seemed like Spinoza successfully accomplished(contrary to his own aims) what Plotinus seems to have set out to do. So, I wondered if you agreed to that, trusting that you are familiar with Plotinus. Hence, my initial reply. If I had more time, I would spend some researching Plotinus, for the notion of monism interests me, despite not being able to agree with it.

:wink:

My own position demands a plurality of things. Beyond or 'beneath' that, I've no reason to believe that it is even possible for us to know much at all more about the origens of the universe. So, I stop when I've reached the limits...
    creativesoul

I have the impression that you took my previous comment personally, but it was not focused on you and in fact, on anyone. I just mentioned that Plotinus can easily be distorted and misunderstood. And yes, I agree that Spinoza continued - but not accomplished - from where Plotino started, however, in a different way to how Plotino first conceptualized- The One is not God -.

:grin:
  • creativesoul

No worries. I did not take that personally, just so you know. Rather, I just wanted to be clear about my intentions here.

Cheers!
  • Gus Lamarch