• ToothyMaw
    Within the moral framework of divine command theory, which dictates that moral actions are obligatory just because god commands them, wouldn't denying revelation (the moral disclosures made by god, which would be moral facts if god existed, albeit arbitrary moral facts) be equivalent to not believing in god? Consequently, is it true that if one says that another is amoral for denying judeo-christian values, which are revelation, then it follows that they would be amoral for merely denying god's existence because, once again, to deny god's existence is to deny revelation?
  • Devans99
    Interesting!

I am new to it forgive me, from wikipedia:

"Divine command theory (also known as theological voluntarism)[1][2] is a meta-ethical theory which proposes that an action's status as morally good is equivalent to whether it is commanded by God. The theory asserts that what is moral is determined by God's commands and that for a person to be moral he is to follow God's commands."

So it seems it leaves wriggle room? The actions that are not directly commanded by God are allowed to be non-moral, and that would presumably include denying God's existence?

God has also not communicated his commands clearly to us! Ideally, we could have done with some sort of user manual: 'Welcome to your new universe! Here is how to use it'. That would have been nice!

So the lack of clear communication could mean:

- God has no commands for us
    - We are meant meant to work out what God commands using our own intellect
  • ToothyMaw