• Pfhorrest
    This thread is a continuation of the multi-thread project begun here.

In this thread we discuss the essay On Epistemology, Belief, and the Methods of Knowledge, in which I cover the definition of knowledge, make an argument against confirmationism, given an account of parsimony combining Occam's Razor with Kuhn's Structure of Scientific Revolutions, cover the analytic/synthetic and a priori/a posteriori distinctions, with special focus on analytic a posteriori knowledge and its relation to etymology, culminating in a "deontological" (rights-based) account of knowledgeable discourse in preparation for my next essay on Academics, Education, and the Institutes of Knowledge.

I'm looking for feedback both from people who are complete novices to philosophy, and from people very well-versed in philosophy. I'm not so much looking to debate the ideas themselves right now, especially the ones that have already been long-debated (though I'd be up for debating the truly new ones, if any, at a later time). But I am looking for constructive criticism in a number of ways:

- Is it clear what my views are, and my reasons for holding them? (Even if you don't agree with those views or my reasons for holding them.) Especially if you're a complete novice to philosophy.

- Are any of these views new to you? Even if I attribute them to someone else, I'd like to know if you'd never heard of them before.

- Are any of the views that I did not attribute to someone else actually views someone else has held before? Maybe I know of them and just forgot to mention them, or maybe I genuinely thought it was a new idea of my own, either way I'd like to know.

- If I did attribute a view to someone, or gave it a name, or otherwise made some factual claim about the history of philosophical thought, did I get any of that wrong?