• invizzy
    I actually wrote my MA thesis on the philosophy of fun but I've had a few new thoughts since I graduated. In short, 'fun' as a distinct concept is undertheorised in philosophy, instead thinkers tend to talk about 'play', 'leisure', 'games', 'pleasure' and so on.

What makes something fun though? Why is playing a game considered fun, while eating a nice meal, on the other hand although pleasurable, is rarely considered fun?

I think I have an idea. It first relies on making a distinction between 'generals' and 'specifics'. I think 'essential' and 'accidental' properties gets at a similar idea, as does 'universals' and 'particulars', but I'll show you where my mind is at when I use my terminology seeing as universal/particular and accidental/essential already come with a lot of baggage:

I think ‘folk’ use actually tracks my general/specific meanings pretty well but perhaps we can be clearer. In philosophy we sometimes speak of the difference between de re and de dicto. If I were to say ‘I’m going to marry the tallest man in New Zealand’, then this could be read one of two ways. A de re reading of ‘I’m going to marry the tallest man in New Zealand’ is that there is a specific man that I’m going to marry, say Jim, and ‘the tallest man in New Zealand’ picks him, and only him, out. Alternatively we can have a de dicto reading of the sentence where you are taken to mean that you do not have anyone specific in mind to marry when you say ‘I’m going to marry the tallest man in New Zealand’ but just have a taste for tall men with Kiwi accents so you aim to marry whoever fits the description at this time. In this case ‘the tallest man in New Zealand’ doesn’t represent a specific man but what I call a ‘general’: best seen as an non-specific idea of the tallest man.