• deletedmemberMD
    Looking back, I’ve noticed that during my studies of philosophy, ethics and logic I have experienced some of the most profound mental health improvements. More so than when I studied Psychology.

So I wanted to get other people’s perspectives on this. At whatever level of study.
    1. Has your study of philosophy/related fields (24 votes)
        Positively impacted your mental health?
        58%
        Negatively impacted your mental health?
          0%
        Had no bearing on your mental health?
        21%
        Been an emotional rollercoaster and are unsure if it’s positive or negative yet?
        21%
  • BC
    I can't say that the study of philosophy produced positive changes in my mental health. What philosophy was useful for was understanding why I had experienced positive changes. I have held it as an axiom of mental health therapy that "Therapy means change, not adjustment." Change might not be produced by one's own initiative; it may happen TO a person, or be brought about BY the person.

IF we keep doing the same things that are driving us crazy, then we will stay crazy. Ceasing crazy-making behavior will (usually) help a great deal. That assumes, of course, that one can change. If raising one's 6 children on a poverty budget is driving one crazy, one might have to stick with it anyway. Or, if the only job one can find is bad for mental health, one might have to stay on the job. [During WWII soldiers in Europe deserted at a fairly high rte -- usually returning to their units later. Soldiers in the Pacific almost never deserted. Did the Pacific Theater soldiers like being in battle? Probably not. But in a war fought on isolated islands in a big ocean, there was no way to desert.]