• TheMadFool
    "There is grandeur in this view of life, with its several powers, having been originally breathed into a few forms or into one; and that, whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been, and are being, evolved.” — Darwin

I'm not a biology expert so forgive my ignorance. I have a very simple question.

If evolution is true then why aren't new life-forms popping into existence? I purposely didn't use "evolve" because that requires a pre-existing life-form as in single-celled creatures evolved into complex multicellular life.

Perhaps biologists are in the dark about this. I haven't heard of any biologist who's theory of how life began has been proven. I've heard of the primordial soup theory and the gist of that theory is that random events lead to simple organic molecules and these evolved into cells and you know the rest of the story.

I find the present conditions of the world - liquid water, air, temperature - actually perfect for life to begin, start from scratch. Yet, we've never heard of scientists stating that they discovered a life-form has come into existence in the past 100 years.

Why is that?

I guess some would say that the available ecological niches are already filled to capacity leaving no room for new life-forms to come into existence, instead only existing life-forms evolve into new species.

I wonder if such an explanation suffices? Is there no vacant ecological real estate anymore?

I guess the 5 mass extinctions explain a lot. Each extinction was followed by repopulation of the biosphere by different kinds of organisms. The dinosaurs were followed by mammals for instance.

I'm just wondering if there are organisms that are actually coming into existence as we speak. Finding them would help us discover the secrets to life's origins.
  • Streetlight