• Shawn
    I do want to right away start by saying that I am a novice in regards to Buddhist thought and belief. However, I have been quite interested in Buddhist thought for quite a while now, and to be honest, I live my life, to the best of my knowledge, as a Buddhist would. Now, this doesn't make me a Buddhist by any regards, as I am deficient in the asceticism component of Buddhist thought and belief. I do have some misgivings with regards to Buddhism, which I'm going to list three main points that I hope anyone cares to address:

1) With that said, as someone who most closely is aligned with Stoicism and Cynicism, due to their influence on Christianity and such, I do find the asceticism to be difficult to incorporate into the life on an average Western adult, that I am. Even in our consumer-based economy that is the United States, it's a matter of personal preference and ultimately individualism to embrace Buddhism, or so I thought. Namely, that Buddhism is not an individual based 'taste' or 'liking', as far as I'm aware, nor is it a philosophy that embraces individualism in any regard. Is this something anyone would agree with?

2) Another misgiving that I have towards Buddhism is the fact that it's a philosophy that is at once very elegant in its simplicity, yet very hard to master or achieve. By which I mean to make the claim, that Buddhism is a philosophy that is too stringent on such a basic urge that is desire. Think about it this way, if everyone in the world mastered their desires and practiced Buddhist asceticism, then we wouldn't have made it very far as a species. The entire economy would fall apart and we would figuratively live as if we were still in the stone age. I mean no disrespect here in comparing a world full of Buddhists to cavemen with some fire; but, I hope I got the point across here. Is this something anyone would agree with?