• Aidan buk
    Hi all. I write a lot, and have been taking a lot of notes on determinism and some ideas on morality. I'm a bit new to philosophy, yet i would say i have always had an interest in it, i was just unaware previously that the nature of my thoughts generally fell under the blanket of philosophy. I suppose it is tied in with my quite heavy OCD, in which i think quite meticulously about some things at times, and if i don't i get quite anxious and uncomfortable. Anyway, iv'e only just started reading some philosophy in detail, some basic overview books of philosophy, bit of Camus etc, of which i believe to be quite surface level. My question is, do you think that it is in order to write a good entry book, which is philosophical in nature, that one would have to have done a substantial amount of reading first? I am familiar with the overview of many deterministic / free will theorists. Thanks.
  • Shamshir
    A substantial amount of reading? No.
    A substantial amount of thinking? Yes.
  • Pattern-chaser
    do you think that in order to write a good entry book, which is philosophical in nature, that one would have to have done a substantial amount of reading first?Aidan buk

Entry to what?

Writing anything down will make clear to you if there are areas you don't understand well enough. So the exercise is beneficial anyway. Good luck!
  • Grre