• Banno
    "I love you more than words can say."Wallows

..says how much I love you, and yet does so in words...
  • Banno
    ...the philosophical point, contra @Baden, being that it is a showing, not a saying, but with words.
  • Shawn
    Are you stalking me? My ancient wisdom, reincarnated in a new forum.Banno

No, I'm just a student relishing in old wisdom.
  • Banno
    I'm content to be the centre of attention.
  • Shawn
    I'm content to be the centre of attention.Banno

What do you think about what andrewk said? Here's it again:

Is it self-referential?
    — Wallows
    No, because it is a statement of inequality, just like saying - 'I am taller than that anthill'. If it were a statement of equality it might be self-referential.

Another example might be 'I am heavier than this scale can measure'. It is not self-referential. It is really just saying something about the limitations of the scale.

Scale <-> words.
    andrewk
  • Banno
    Sentences don't literally "express meaning," you assign meaning to them.Terrapin Station

I'd say we build meaning rather than assign it.
  • fdrake
    The underlying relationship between affect and its expression is of a mismatch of registers. Were it that I could speak only my mind, I could express the depths of my love. I always love more than words can say.
  • Banno
    just like saying - 'I am taller than that anthill'.andrewk

Well, no it's not like that, because that sentence is about anthills, while the other is about words.

It's not a direct self-reference, but "language cannot express my love for you" is an expression of my love for you, in language.

So it can't be read directly, but nor is it metaphorical.

So it puts the lie to the notion that language expresses some inner belief; and it puts the lie to the notion that language cannot express what is beyond or outside of language.

The use to which language is put in "I love you more than words can say" transcends language.
  • Banno