• Terrapin Station

What would you say is an example of science positing matter that has no properties or form?
  • Jamesk
    I am no scientist but I am aware of the fact that several scientific paradoxes exist. Science has no actual equation for gravity, not what it does but how it works in itself. The whole concept of mass seems at least a little shady to me.

I am suspicious of any form of knowledge that can only be understood by a select few and science is one of those. The more we discover the fewer can actually fully understand it, we are then left with new high priests to translate, interpret, simplify and feed to us of lower than very high I.Q's.
  • Terrapin Station

Thanks. I was just wondering if you had any specific examples in mind.
  • Harry Hindu
    Solipsism is the risk that Descartes also ran, but Berkeley is firm on their being other minds.Jamesk
    Which would just be another assumption made by someone (Berkeley's word is not the final word) who is being skeptical of others' assumptions. What's new? One unfalsifiable claim is just as good as any other. Where's the evidence, not just of other minds, but of spiritual stuff vs. physical stuff, God, etc.?
  • Harry Hindu
    Sometimes I wonder if it's not kind of a consequence of people who "think too much" in this regard: maybe there are some people who never are simply aware of a tree, say, but instead they always think about it--they think about what it is (including the name "tree"), they think about how they parse the color, the shape, etc. And so on. They never basically have an "empty mind" where they just experience things. If that were the case, then it would make more sense how maybe everything would seem like an idea to those folks, because they can't experience anything without having ideas about it.Terrapin Station