• garberdude
    I am new to logic and am creating truth tables for arguments. I came across one that passes as valid, but, on the face of it seems disjointed. I'm not sure how to make sense of its validity on a cognitive level and would appreciate if someone can help me interpret it. The argument is as follows:

Tim achieves heaven if Tim is virtuous. But Tim is happy provided that he is not virtuous. Tim does not achieve heaven only if he is not happy. Therefore, Tim achieves heaven. (T = "Tim achieves heaven"; V = "Time is virtuous"; H = "Tim is happy")

This boils down to:
    (V→T), (¬V→H), (¬T→¬H), Therefore: T

This is using the material conditional. When put into a truth table, this pans out as valid. I just can't wrap my head around it. Thought I'd take it to the good people of the internet: Is this valid by some odd technicality? Is it just straight up valid and I cant see the inference?

Edit:I miswrote the conclude to be V, instead of T.
    Thank you, Jim Roo for the correction

• JimRooAccepted Answer
    You state: (V→T), (¬V→H), (¬T→¬H), Therefore: V

Based on the previous paragraph, I think you mean: (V→T), (¬V→H), (¬T→¬H), Therefore: T

Can you work the statements to get to: (V→T) & (¬V→T)
  • garberdude
    Yes, that's possible with these premises... and I guess now that I'm looking at it in that light, I see that it is impossible to have (¬V & ¬T), since the ¬T would trigger ¬H, which would be contradictory to the consequent of (¬V→H)... And since V has a consequent of T, there is only one possible truth value for T, if the premises are true.

The (¬T→¬H) acts as a contradiction for anything that could produce a False value for the conclusion...whew, that was cooking my brain there for a bit. Thanks for the hint!

I wonder if this valid form could have a sound instance?
  • Nicholas Ferreira
    • 1. V → T
    • 2. ¬V → H
    • 3. ¬T → ¬H // T
      Proof:
    • 4. H → T ..... 3, transposition
    • 5. ¬V → T ..... 2,4, hypothetical syllogism