• Luke

I'm no expert on the subject, or even a (good) philosopher, but I tend to agree with Pneumenon here.

The author appears to argue that 'Mathematical Platonism...the view that mathematical reality exists by itself, independently from our own intellectual activities' is false, and it is false because mathematics is dependent on our own intellectual activities.
  • Janus
    The point is, there are more than correlations between mathematics and nature; as Galileo said, and surely this is a Platonist sentiment, 'the book of nature is written in mathematics' (and as is well-known, Galileo was indebted to the revival of Platonism in the Italian Renaissance).Wayfarer

No doubt we use mathematics to help (I don't see any reason to believe that mathematics is absolutely essential to the task) decipher the "book of nature"; but it does not follow from this that nature is somehow in itself reducible to mathematics. Obviously nature carries the possibility of math, otherwise there would be no math. For math to manifest,(although apparently some animals can count in rudimentary ways) the evolution of beings like us, who have developed the capacity for symbolic thought would seem to be necessary.

Nowadays there is an overwhelming urge to 'relativise' the whole matter, to say that number is something internal to or peculiar to humans - which is pretty well the impulse behind the Rovelli paper too.Wayfarer

Honestly I think you should stick to trying to unpack the philosophical issues and refrain from indulging in tendentious and irrelevant social commentary.

'Concrete representations' are written symbols or representations in any material form.Wayfarer