• LittleLisa
    Hi everyone.

I am currently a master student of a completely different background and I am evaluating Bentham´s concept of utilitarianism. With this, I wanted to point out some strengths and weaknesses of it, and unfortunately, I came to the conclusion that it is not a good theory to use when thinking morally correct. I would therefore like to discuss a few things I came up with, please do not be too harsh if there are mistakes in it or if I used the concept of Bentham in a wrong way. I did not study ethics and am not that familiar with everything yet, although I am highly interested. Thus, I seek your help and I look forward to hear your opinions!

I pointed out 5 major insights I gained from the moral theory and wanted to discuss with you. I would be super happy if you could read through a few of those insights, you definitely don't have to discuss all of them with me. Anyways, thanks for reading and all the best.

1. Bentham´s concept relies on the consequences of an act. Predicting the consequences relies heavily on experiences and subjective thinking and can only be a guess of how actions are going to turn out. Imagine a plane is captured by terrorists over the ocean and they threaten to fly it into a big city. The government sends out two fighter jets to shoot down the plane before thousands of people are killed when the plane crashes into a crowded area. In this situation, a utilitarian would suggest that it is a morally right act based on the result that only one hundred people in the plane die compared to more than 100 in the city center. However, it could turn out that passengers regain control of the plane or that the terrorists change their mind and land the plane safely on the closest airport.

--> What would you do here? Can you really take these difficult decisions when you are not completely certain of how the events are going to unfold?