• JJJJS
    Can anyone help me find some good sentence diagramming exercises because I want to improve my skills...

Here is a relevant quote: "I really do not know that anything has ever been more exciting than diagramming sentences."
    — Gertrude Stein
  • Lintosophy
    I do believe life is trying to tell us something.
  • JJJJS
    I do believe life is trying to tell us something.

First clause: subject + auxiliary verb + main verb + direct object

Second clause: auxiliary verb + main verb + infinitive with to + pronoun + pronoun
  • JJJJS
    I'm not very good at this.
  • JJJJS
    I is the subject and everything else after is the predicate
  • JJJJS
    Anyone know how to learn to diagram a sentence?
  • BC
    We used to have to do sentence diagramming in high school, like this:

tumblr_p7d73nEtqK1s4quuao1_540.jpg

I've since forgotten what a noun, verb, adverb, conjunction, expletive, proposition, etc. is. Are prepositioning something that street whores do, or is that a propositional phrase followed by an unlawful conjunction? It's all fucking confusion. And why are grammarians so interested in predicators anyway -- why they do not worry about the pray?

Disemboweling sentences won't help you write good, any day.
  • BC
    You can get "Sister Bernadette's Barking Dog: The Quirky History and Lost Art of Diagramming Sentences on Amazon, but it isn't written by Sister Bernadette.
  • JJJJS
    this looks similar to your method: http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/diagrams2/one_pager1.htm

I want practice exercises though as I'm not sure about all the component parts
  • BC
    It is not clear what your objective is. Do you want to learn how to diagram sentences more effectively, or do you want to learn how to write more effectively?