• hymyíŕeyr
    Hello, nice to meet you all. To start my time off here I wanna make this topic as its an issue that so far I don't see addressed much, so perhaps I'm missing something obvious or it's too scary a thing to think about perhaps. (I am relatively new to learning philosophy formally, I've decided to learn it after being friends with a couple of guys who are doing philosophy degrees for several years).

So the question is, how could we establish justification for the existence of logic and perhaps some of its core elements, such as the concept of truth values?

Logic has been studied to enable us to deal with reasoning, broadly speaking, one important type of which is the concept of if-statements. So how can we derive logic and/or justify it if we need if-statements to carry out the process of derivation?

An answer I can already hear would be something like, we observe logic being applied every day and it works, therefore we can conclude that it exists. the question I would pose to this sort of argument would be that, in the process of determining whether the application of logic to real life occurrences has been successful, aren't we already using logic here, and therefore using logic to justify logic?

I'm interested to hear your thoughts guys
  • LD Saunders
    I'm you asking about a justification for the use of logic, or an actual so-called grounding?