• T Clark
    As an engineer, I consider myself a professional epistemologist. In order to do my job, I have to know things about the world and I have to know how I know them. In the process of coming to know things, I have favorite sources of information that I turn to over and over again. I thought I’d lay them out and see where other people turn:

• Wikipedia – people look down their noses at Wikipedia and I can understand that in terms of in-depth study, but for a general overview, it’s wonderful. When someone brings up philosophical or scientific ideas or systems I’m not familiar with and the dictionary definition is not enough, this is where I go. The thing I like best is the philosophy behind the website, which is think is similar to that of the forum – a love of and generous desire to share ideas and information.

• Google Earth – I still can’t believe this exists. I can go to Disko Island in Greenland and see people walking on the street in some small village. Disko Island for God’s sake. I love to spin the world and then look at wherever it ends up, especially islands. At work, when I’m involved in a new project, the first thing I always do is go on Google Earth, Google Maps, or Bing Maps and look at the site. Street view is wonderful. Many times I don’t even have to visit a site before I can start work. You can also plot your own data.

• Sporcle – This is a webpage that has quizzes. It is a wonderful and fun tool for rote learning. I, like a lot of geography teachers, use it to teach and learn where all the countries of the world and major cities are. It amazes me how much just knowing where things are increases my understanding of how the human world works. Knowing that the place where most of the Uyghurs live in China is next to Kyrgyzstan makes understanding that part of the world easier. Sporcle is also great for learning the periodic table.