• TheMadFool
    I'm not an expert but was it Decartes who approached philosophy, life, with complete doubt? Descartes, if I'm correct, wanted indubitable truths on which to base his philosophy.

''Cogito ergo sum'' he said and thereupon laid the foundation of his philosophy. I think he reeled in God too as one who is benevolent - enough to subdue Descartes' demon.

I was thinking about how one would go about finding such a truth - beyond the reach of radical doubt - that defeats skepticism of even the worst/best kind.

Here's what I came up with. It's not that well-formed an idea but for a beginner like me I think it's a good start.

Let's doubt everything, all truths, knowledge itself.

That translates to : D = There are NO truths.

Now, D can be either true or false.

Suppose D is true.

That means there are NO truths but...

that means D too is a falsehood.

A contradiction D & ~D

So D is false which entails that: T = There are some truths.

So radical doubt is a self-refuting position. It's impossible that there are NO truths.

Therefore, there is at least one truth.

What that truth is I don't know. Is it Descartes' cogito ergo sum? May be or may be not. It does seem logical. To doubt my own existence would require me to exist, right?

Is it another truth we aren't aware of?

What about the statement T = there is at least one truth? This can't be doubted since its negation is a contradiction.

However, T, by itself, doesn't do much. It proves, beyond doubt, that there is at least one truth but doesn't say what that truth is.

Do any of you have any idea what that/those truth(s) is/are?
  • Banno
    Neat. The very idea of doubting everything is absurd, since it involves doubting the very language needed to frame the doubt.

Doubt is overrated. We need not doubt without some reason to doubt.

Could you doubt that this post is in English? What would that entail?
  • Saphsin