• Georgios Bakalis
    For some reason, I have only recently taken interest in formal (and sometimes informal) logic - I am a beginner. I am definitely not perfect, so I need help on this one thing I am trying to do. I am attempting to logically notate Darwin’s Doubt to work out if it is a valid inference, but also for practise.
    For those unaware, Darwin’s doubt was when Charles Darwin thought the following:
    If we evolved from primates, why should I believe that my thoughts are coherent and true, thus why would I believe we evolved?
    Others have tried to use this argument to ‘disprove’ determinism and claims such as ‘Nothing is true’. We might try to word this argument as: You cannot make a statement that undermines/disproves that very statement - at least, that is how I will think about it for the rest of this. You may object to Darwin’s doubt in many ways, but I am not currently concerned with that.

I have logically notated it as follows:

pT → ¬∃x xT, pT
    ∴ ¬pT

‘p’ represents any statement. ‘T’ represents ‘is true’. Under normal circumstances, pT does not ever imply that nothing is T, so this is perhaps already a massive flaw in my notation, but I’ll leave that up to you to decide.

My biggest problem, though, is Stephen Meyer. He attempts to resolve Darwin’s Doubt by saying that intelligent design is the only explanation if evolution is true. This makes it more difficult for me to notate this.
    How would I write that? ‘r stops pT from implying ¬∃x xT’? It seems stupid, and I am sure that it is.

I just need a bit of help.

Edit: I have found out that ‘Darwin’s doubt’ is not the thing I have described in the above. So that I don’t have to rewrite a load of things, just keep this in mind.
  • unenlightened
    If we evolved from primates, why should I believe that my thoughts are coherent and trueGeorgios Bakalis