• RepThatMerch22
    This thread presents the case for a right to State-assisted suicide.

I know that for some of you, such a proposal seems bizarre, but I want to keep emotion outside of this thread and keep it purely focused on the merits. I want to keep this a purely hypothetical topic. I know it is an emotional one, but I think we should be free to discuss these ideas. I do not recommend that anyone commit suicide, and none of what I say is medical advice. I am not a medical professional and I have no medical training. To avoid confusion, I will set out my points individually so you can address them in your replies.

By "State-assisted suicide", I mean that the State should provide the means for an individual who is of sound mind to commit suicide through reasonably quick, painless, efficient and humane means. This could mean, for example, setting up facilities where trained medical professionals can administer drugs to people who choose to undertake the procedure.

By "sound mind", I mean that the person has the ability to think, and reason for oneself. I understand there may be pragmatic problems in ascertaining who is of sound mind, and ensuring that people who are NOT of sound mind mind do not undertake the procedure. However, as I mentioned earlier I want to keep this topic purely hypothetical and theoretical -- so assuming that we could identify who is and is not of sound mind, would you support the proposal?

Here is my case, succinctly put, in favour of a case for a right to State-assisted suicide as defined above.

1. People do not choose to be born.

2. Some people are born into favourable circumstances, whereas others are not.

3. For example, and for illustrative purposes only, someone might be born into a wealthy family, and find it easier to progress through education and enjoy a successful career (this is a hypothetical example only, and it is not to say that all wealthy people are like this).