• Jamie
    Greetings,

I am relatively new to philosophy and am currently reading my way through a selection of books by Nietzsche (namely Beyond Good And Evil, Human, All Too Human and Thus Spoke Zarathustra). I also have Nausea by John-Paul Satre on order and that should hopefully be arriving tomorrow.
    I tried to read philosophy when I was an ignorant teenager but found it boring and difficult to understand. How wrong was I? :D
    I started reading Nietzsche and find his thoughts and ideas on religion, rules and laws and society interesting and he makes a lot of valid points, even if I don't necessarily agree with everything he says.
    I am interested in exploring more of the existentialist and nihilist ideas but I will not restrict my reading to any particular philosopher or ideology. I am open to any suggestions at all.

Thank you,

Jamie
  • Pierre-Normand
    For an enjoyable introduction to ordinary language philosophy, you may consider:
    John L. Austin, Sense and Sensibilia, OUP (1962)

For some more introductory reading on analytic philosophy, engaging yet deep:
    Gregory McCulloch, The Mind and Its World, Routledge (1995)
    and from the same author: The Game of the Name (1989)
  • TimeLine
    I would recommend the Myth of Sisyphus to add to Nausea, and for a very different type of existentialism you could attempt Kierkegaard.
  • T Clark
    I am interested in exploring more of the existentialist and nihilist ideas but I will not restrict my reading to any particular philosopher or ideology. I am open to any suggestions at all.Jamie

I suggest you take a look at some of the discussions and posts from @MysticMonist. He is working his way through Plato. He just started a new discussion - "The Republic Strikes Back: A Platonic Sequel." I am not partial to Plato or a lot of other western philosophers. Is Plato a western philosopher? MysticMonist has opened my eyes, slightly, to the possibility that there is value there.
  • Srap Tasmaner