• John Days
    Wow, I just made myself conscious--for the first time--that things have me flirting with violence. It's not the kind or amount of violence that would get a movie "rated R for violence" or fill a horrible documentary or news report--it's just throwing reading material to the ground.WISDOMfromPO-MO

This reminds me of a person who worried that insulting another person's grandfather's bad back might be taking things a little too far...
  • Janus

I've never worked for anyone else for any length of time. I was hopeless at school because of a total lack of interest, so when I finished year 12 I had to take cleaning jobs, laboring jobs and the like. My first job I worked with a gang of Calabrians as a fettler on the Northern Sydney railway lines.

I couldn't stand full-time work, so I worked as a gardener for private residential clients. Then I taught myself how to build with wood and masonry and became a self-taught landscape designer and creator and carpenter/stonemason. I learned from books and took risks pushing myself to take on ever more ambitious projects which challenged my then current skill level. I am proud to be able to say that I have never come unstuck because of poor workmanship.

What I meant, though, was that we are made slaves in a sense by the very need to earn a living. We can gain a range of degrees of freedom within that necessary pursuit, depending on luck and talent; talent both for the work and for self-promotion. To be effective at the work or at promoting yourself you need to have discipline and application, which means you need to have motivation. I was motivated to the work because I enjoyed learning all the skills, and creating beautiful structures and environments, but I had almost no motivation to promote myself. I was always hated what I saw as excessive sales bullshit. I saw it at work in some of my colleagues; it disgusted me.