• Rich
    I was a consultant.

Once you begin mixing art, with audience, with money, it becomes something else. Some mashing of lots of things. I keep my art simple. I create and I learn. For me it is the same with all of my pursuits. I don't do it for others, I do it for myself.

If I want to make money by pleasing others, that is what I do. At this point, I am no longer doing that. Even with Tai Chi, I only teach it for free. No pollution.
  • Noble Dust

*Takes a look at his computer wallpaper* :

elijah-the-prophet-1931.jpg
  • praxis
    It's not that simple, in my opinion. Consider the possibility that the value of art or how we experience it is a social construct. If that's the case then just about anything could be perceived as art, and also the value of it could vary wildly.

Rather than catering to the concepts of beauty or art that a society may have, an artist could create new concepts, in affect changing, or rather adding, new sources of artistic value. As I see it that's what this topic is about, but rather than technology, abundance, or globalization being the irritant for the aspiring artist, it's simply that all the low lying fruit has been picked, so to speak. Major movements in art like realism, impressionism, abstract art, etc., to speak only of painting, have all been done, so it's more difficult to be original or to create new concepts. But then maybe it isn't actually more difficult than it was in days gone by. That might only be our perception.

andy-warhol-one-dollar-bills.jpg
    Andy Warhol's 200 One Dollar Bills sold at Sotheby's in 2009 for $43.8 million.
  • Noble Dust
    Major movements in art like realism, impressionism, abstract art, etc., to speak only of painting, have all been done, so it's more difficult to be original or to create new concepts.praxis