• dani
    Hey!

I'm curious about how yall are learning, and processing the knowledge you come across.

I'll go first:
    What I do: I personally do pre-reading/watching, and then summarize the books I read or videos I watch. I use Notion for that, and I have my own little template for it. I keep an Ignorance Map of things I encounter and would like to know more about, also on Notion.
    I find that writing things in my own words, particularly summaries (and SMALL summaries, at that) really helps with understanding what I'm learning.

What I would like to explore: doing a pre-reading or "pre-thinking" about each chapter that I read -- basically getting more granular and setting up a more frequent trigger to engage my mind, rather than just consuming the content. I'd also like to try talking more about the topics I'm studying and interested in!

And to finalize, I wanna share this method I found on reddit:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/productivity/comments/dusvhd/sharing_how_i_remember_every_single_nonfiction_i/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x&context=3
    https://www.reddit.com/r/productivity/comments/dva756/method_how_i_summarize_books_to_remember/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x&context=3

Looking forward to your comments/resources you might want to share :D
  • unenlightened
    Mostly, I fart around and make lots of mistakes. But sometimes I read the instructions or watch a video, when mistakes look like they might be expensive or painful.
  • bongo fury

As those cats would no doubt advise: the best possible method of learning is play, but at the same time it's crucial that newly acquired knowledge be consolidated through sleep.
  • dani
    @unenlightened @bongo fury keeping it casual around here I see :cool: thanks for your comments!
  • jgill
    Nice cats.

I am a retired mathematician and my learning style has always required examples. If I try to understand a math concept I need to see it in action.