• deusidex
    I'm a psychology student and I'm really interested in philosophy. I read (more or less) Heraclitus, Plato, Seneca, the Bhagavad Gita, Tao Te Ching, several discourses of the Buddha, Meister Eckhart, Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Kafka and Viktor Frankl. These writers and books are also my favourites and I believe listing them shows my interest.

I'm mainly interested in existentialism and in Nietzsche who I plan to start reading first byTwilight of the Idols and The Antichrist. I heard a lot about Schopenhauer, Heidegger, Camus and Sartre but I don't want to read more about them until I read others before them so I'm kind of lost in this way in a sense that I'm not exactly sure where to begin, what to skip and what not to. I'm passionately interested in the human psyche and in metaphysics. My aim is to be knowledgeable in certain areas of the philosophy, to be familiar with existentialism and the writers listed above, also to be able to understand them.

I suppose I should start by reading a book about the history of philosophy. I have Socrates to Sartre by Samuel Enoch Stumpf. Would that be satisfactory first? Which books or which books of the previously mentioned writers should I read in order to follow my passion in philosophy in a way that I can understand it as well?

• Pantagruel
    If you want to start building a background then Bertrand Russell's History of Western Philosophy would be my suggestion. In order to understand existentialism you also need to understand the traditions from which it arose.
  • Kenosha Kid
    If you want to start building a background then Bertrand Russell's History of Western Philosophy would be my suggestion.Pantagruel

This completely sidesteps existentialism. Russell didn't consider it important.