• Metamorphosis
    well I studied science at the graduate level and have a good idea of what life is and what consciousness is

Like I said consciousness is a word that people use and like any word it can mean different things in different situations

What's your level of scientific study? What do you have your PhD in? Bottom line is people are imaginative inventive creatures that like to just make stuff up, like to talk, and like to just say creative stuff

But we have incredibly sophisticated body of knowledge that tells us what life is, life is complex chemistry that evolved over billions of years

Like I said, consciousness is a word and like any word it can mean different things in different contexts. But whatever it is, it is an evolved ability of certain organisms. And therefore it relies on chemical arrangements of atoms and molecules

When a person gets Alzheimer's and begins to lose their ability to be conscious, it is because their brain is deteriorating. The same thing if someone has a stroke or someone has an injury

The ability that any organism has to move around and act in the world is based on chemistry. And when the chemistry is damaged functioning is also damaged

Bottom line is if you think you have a better definition or a better understanding why don't you present it and also present some evidence to back it up. Because is kinda obvious if you deprive a brain of oxygen it will die and begin decaying and will no longer be conscious. This is what all the science says. What evidence do you have to the contrary?

I think a lot of people like to just live in fantasyland and throw out religious like mumbo jumbo because it makes them feel good and it makes them feel special and it is the history of human happenings