• 64bithuman
    I am studying Hegel and am struggling to understand Hegel's dialectic and his claims of objectivity. If I understand Hegel correctly, then he claims that the philosopher's task is to understand history. To understand history is to form ideas - ideas are content and form - which Hegel compares to body and soul, meaning one can't exist without the other.

Content is conceptual and form is actual. Thus, I understand Hegel to be suggesting that, for example, within the concept of justice the actual could be called the 'law'. As we collectively strive to unfold rationality, we gain a better and better rational understanding of justice by continually progressing through history and improving our laws. I understand him to claim that, for example, within the concept of justice lays an objective actuality of justice that we are striving towards. Or that to understand the idea of justice, one must form a concept of justice which is circularly informed by the actuality of justice, that is, the long human history of recorded law.

However, I do not understand how our collective historical striving towards Hegel's objective actuality of a concept can functionally be separated from subjective knowing. I can understand, for example, the idea of the 'look', but I fail to recognize how constructing a narrative of understanding from history is anything except a massive scattering of subjective 'looks' throughout recorded history. Does a 'look' in a given time not simultaneously suggest both subjectivity and objectivity?

For example, one could claim that justice in Sharia law is cutting the hands off a thief. Wouldn't a traditional and literal Muslim scholar claim that this conception of justice is the true actuality of justice? Hegel might argue that this is not, but how can this be understood in any way except subjectively?

Hegel himself acknowledges that man is a 'child of his time'. Does being a child of one's time not assert a subjectivity inherently?