• TiredThinker
    Is it difficult to get a PHD in philosophy compared to other subjects? I work in a restaurant and this one medical doctor always includes MD in his name when ordering which of course is silly. My fellow employees were joking about changing it in the computer to PHD to slight them. Lol. I have heard PHDs can be harder to get than MDs but I expect that is related to subject matter.
  • sime

The difficulty of getting a PhD in any subject is inversely proportional to the corruption of the respective university department and the charlatanism and toxicity of the phd supervisor. In many cases the PhD is just a certificate awarded to survivors of abuse.
  • Agent Smith
    In many cases the PhD is just a certificate awarded to survivors of abuse.sime

Most interesting. — Ms. Marple

Star Trek Beyond
    Commander Spock: [opening his eyes] I am entirely conscious, Doctor. I'm simply contemplating the nature of mortality.

Doctor 'Bones' McCoy: Feeling philosophical, huh? Massive blood loss will do that to you.
  • Bartricks
    It depends where you get it from and who your examiners were. A PhD from a top 100 university and with good examiners - that's something.
    An MD is just a plumber
  • javi2541997
    A PhD from a top 100 university and with good examiners -Bartricks

Exactly. I personally think that holding a PhD on philosophy at Harvard university or Oxford (for example) is so worthy and significant.
  • javi2541997

The average Ph.D. thesis is nothing but a transference
    of bones from one graveyard to another
    - J. Frank Dobie (1888-1964)
  • Agent Smith