• T Clark
    I call myself a pragmatist. When I was working as an engineer, I also sometimes called myself an engineering epistemologist. So, I think I’m qualified to start this thread.

As a pragmatist, I assert that no philosophical position is meaningful unless it has concrete implications for phenomena present in the everyday world, life, and experience of normal human beings. As a pragmatic epistemologist I assert that the primary value of truth and knowledge is for use in decision making to help identify, plan, and implement needed human action. Philosophy that does not meet this standard is not useful.

Since I’m going to talk about epistemology, I’ll need to talk about knowledge. “Knowledge” probably means something different to a pragmatist than to other people. There have been many discussions of knowledge. Most of them have focused on truth rather than usefulness. My purpose here is to lay out a more pragmatic way of thinking about knowledge, by looking at my experience as a civil and environmental engineer.

Most of my work as an engineer focused on cleaning up soil, groundwater, and sediment contamination from industrial processes. Here's how I've come to think about knowledge after 30 years as an environmental engineer:

• First - Put together what you know about the subject at hand and how you know it.
    • Second - set up what we call a Site Conceptual Model (SCM). Not really a theory. It's more comprehensive than that. It's the sum total of everything we know about something, how the different parts fit together, and an understanding of the uncertainty about that knowledge. An SCM can apply to a single property where we're trying to clean up contamination or the whole universe, depending on the scope of our interest.
    • Third - Find the places where the SCM is inadequate - do your best to figure out where there are gaps in your knowledge or where there are significant uncertainties.