• Gnomon
    Pro-tip: as much as and whenever possible, for clarity's sake, avoid sumarizing in your "own words". A thesaurus and philosophical dictionary don't bite.180 Proof
    I get the feeling that you are talking down to me, but not dumbing-it-down enough. I'm not a Pro, merely an amateur cogitator. I have no formal training in Philosophy, and most of my reading has been in hard Science, not fashionable ideologies. So, when I refer to a technical philosophical issue, I have to paraphrase it in my own words, in order to understand it. Teach me as-if I'm a six year old. :cool:

"If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself.”
    ― Albert Einstein
  • 180 Proof
    "Certum est, quia impossibile" ~Tertullian

I'm not smart enough to dumb down my 'philosophical via negativa' any further especially for someone who won't bother to read it.
    How often have I said to you that when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth? — The Sign of the Four, chap. 6
    Last attempt (paraphrasing Arthur Conan Doyle):

'If we eliminate (negate) the ways the actual world necessarily could not have been or cannot be described, then what remains is every way the actual world – phase spacepossibly could have been or can be described.'

(NB: The natural & historical sciences, not philosophy (i.e. metaphysics), however, provide complementary, possible ways of describing the actual world.)

So what's the point? To (A) propose an 'absolute' (or first principle) which is self-contradictory, or irrational, to deny and (B) which also functions as
    a speculative criterion for the understanding which enables-constrains praxes, or agency180 Proof
    that – by eliminating background 'beliefs-in-impossibilities' (re: ways the actual world necessarily could not have been ...) which amount to expectations inevitably, repeatedly, frustrated by 'the actual world' – optimizes agency / reduces misery. :point: