• Tom Storm
    I've studied dozens of thinkers and philosophies, but primarily from an intellectual perspective, not so much a wisdom perspective.Bret Bernhoft

What do you think is the difference?

It sure would be interesting to involve biofeedback with philosophical training.Bret Bernhoft

Please say more. I have no knowledge of biofeedback.

Perhaps philosophy (for me) is primarily an exercise in different thinking patterns.Bret Bernhoft

I thought philosophy was about ideas. What are thinking patterns? Are you talking about habitual patterns of approaching life/problems that might require... adjustment?
  • Yohan
    I doubt this distinction is precisely accurate but is may be vaguely useful?
    Philosophy: Abstract speculation, with an emphasis on not contradicting axiomatic intuitions.
    Science: Concrete speculation, with an emphasis on not contradicting sense experience.
  • Mww

That I like. I might have used axiomatic principles, but I didn’t come up with it, so.....
  • Yohan
    thanks.
    I think it sounds better: an emphasis on not contradicting axiomatic principles.
  • Yohan
    Another experiment:
    Science: Examining reality
    Philosophy: Examining thought.
    Spirituality: Examining the examiner
  • Tom Storm
    Another experiment:
    Science: Examining reality
    Philosophy: Examining thought.
    Spirituality: Examining the examiner
    Yohan

Science: Examining intersubjectivity
    Philosophy: Examining beliefs
    Spirituality: Examining the unexaminable
  • Yohan
    Maybe intersubjective reality? Pretty nifty
  • Tom Storm
    Indeed - I think I could provide different answers ever few days. Lots of things fit.

I've been touched by phenomenology recently and am curious about it.
  • Manuel

:up:

Absolutely.