• Daemon
    I guess a question would be: how do you know your experiences are similar enough to allow understanding?frank

Not a very clear question Frank. But in 20 years of full time work as a translator I've translated around 10 million words, I very rarely receive complaints about my translations, my work is checked by an editor and I very rarely receive corrections from them, and my customers keep coming back to me and paying for my services. Does that answer your question?
  • Outlander
    These are different meanings. In A the councillors advocate violence and B they fear violence (which has two meanings in and of itself).I like sushi

Hm, I can see the point. Why not:

Out of fear of violence, the councilors refused to allow the protestors, whom are known to advocate violence, to demonstrate.

Or something of the like. Granted not everyone speaks casually in such a manner so it is useful for any application that plans to be relevant to be able to recognize as much variation in sentence construction as possible. Which as has been noted, is quite difficult.

Edit: And of course technically both sentences can mean either or, with a little thought. Granted we know and should assume the same meanings as in the OP, but there's nothing that prevents the opposite.
  • Daemon
    Hm, I can see the pointOutlander

No you can't. You're missing the point completely.
  • Outlander

Would you perhaps mind explaining it then, seeing as you now hold the minority viewpoint of 'understanding' in this discussion?
  • frank
    Not a very clear question Frank. But in 20 years of full time work as a translator I've translated around 10 million words, I very rarely receive complaints about my translations, my work is checked by an editor and I very rarely receive corrections from them, and my customers keep coming back to me and paying for my services. Does that answer your question?Daemon