• Prishon
    As a follow-up question about patterns I like to ask the next question. In AI, neural network systems do a good job in recognize patterns. I'm not sure how good but better than normal computers. The job is done best by our brain. That's why we are, on the net, frequently asked to enter which numbers and letters we can discover before having acces.

What makes it so difficult for an ordinary computer (and relatively easy for a neural network AI or the brain) to recognize a pattern?
  • Josh Alfred
    I am not a computer scientist but I would think that what is behind pattern recognition is to be considered a hardware problem, i.e. pattern recognition is a "natural capacity" of the brain to compute.

Pattern recognition is a sense of repetition. When variables repeat patterns form. I don't understand how that is sensed, though.

I think a computer scientist could explain this with far more depth.
  • Prishon
    Pattern recognition is a sense of repetitionJosh Alfred

What do you mean by this? Can you give an example?
  • TheMadFool
    We can never be sure that there's no pattern:

1. xxxxx...obvious pattern: x repeats
    2. xy...no pattern but wait a bit and it might be xyxyxy
    3. str...no pattern but it could be strstrstr
    4. pktq...no pattern but possible that pktqpktqpktq
    No matter how patternless something appears to be, it might actually possess one, you just have to wait. How long? I have no idea.
  • Prishon

Thanks. Goodday!
  • khaled
    The question has a type error.

Neural network systems are RUN on computers. AI are programs, not devices. This is like asking “What makes it so difficult for an ordinary phone to text when a texting app does it so much easier”
  • Prishon
    Neural network systems are RUN on computers. AI are programs, not devices. This is like asking “What makes it so difficult for an ordinary phone to text when a texting app does it so much easier”
    2mReply
    khaled