• InPitzotl
    From the statement "I have a degree" it doesn't logically follow that atheists can't have a hope that there is no God or that they can't have a fear of the idea of God.Apollodorus
    Is this an attempt at the Chewbacca Defense?

180 Proof's degree in psychology is relevant to this:
    Ask psychologists and they'll tel you.Apollodorus
  • Apollodorus
    180 Proof's degree in psychology is relevant to this:
    Ask psychologists and they'll tel you.
    — Apollodorus
    InPitzotl

It doesn't answer the question. And it doesn't justify his objection to my suggestion that some atheists may be motivated by a feeling of fear.

Is he saying that atheists can not be motivated by feelings of hope or fear?

Normally, when you hope for something not to happen, you do so out of fear of it happening. Does a degree in psych disprove that? No, therefore it is irrelevant.

If he had said "I've got a degree in psych therefore I know so and so" it would have been a different matter. But he didn't. And I don't believe he could have done. How can a degree in psych enable anyone to assert that atheists never feel hope or fear???
  • InPitzotl
    Sorry, but you're running all over the place. What is on the table is that 180 Proof's degree in psychology is relevant to this:
    You offered a pretense of a rebuttal to this, but none of it had to do with what's on the table.

And it doesn't justify his objection to my suggestion that some atheists may be motivated by a feeling of fear.Apollodorus
    That's quite a different goal post than this:
    I believe that's a big element in atheism. Atheists are afraid of the thought of there being anything higher than themselves hence they hope there isn't.Apollodorus

Normally, when you hope for something not to happen, you do so out of fear of it happening.Apollodorus
    That doesn't quite sound correct to me. What is your reasoning behind it?
    Does a degree in psych disprove that?Apollodorus