• javi2541997
    Hello there, nice to meet you all.

Since 2019 I am studying and perfecting the philosophical path of empiricism. When I read for the first time John Locke’s An Essay Concerning Human Understanding I remember an interesting debate he had back in the past through letters with other thinkers/philosophers. This is much as I can remember:

If we block a child in a room all of his childhood teaching him the green colour while is actually yellow. Will he name all of his life “green” when he would actually see yellow? In this topic John Locke answered this is a perfect empirical experiment so he put the following sentence:
    What you are trying to say is that complex terms like colours are not innate because we can teach children to misunderstand mixing them. I guess this is the same example of fearness. You can feel the fear because previously someone taught you what is darkness, witches, demons, etc...

Well this is why I am asking you if an abstract vocabulary like colours are an example of empiricism. I guess we can not categorised the colour patterns if someone previously said to us “that what you see is red, orange, white, etc... because we in our world and system consider this art patterns as our order”
    It is more complex of seeing the art as a white/black figure and its relatives. I meaning why it was born naming the red colour as “red” for example.

Thank you.
  • Antony Nickles