• tim wood
    @Benkei@Michael@fdrake@StreetlightX@jamalrob@Hanover@Baden@andrewk

In the recent thread, Why was the "Homosexuality is a defect" thread deleted?, Unenlightened posted this:

" I was an active admin on the previous incarnation of the site, but have retired. An open site like this must expect to have homosexuals, women, and even white males posting and reading, and must be moderated or descend into flame wars. Talk of defective humans cannot be allowed to pass. It is also inevitably the case that some flaming will pass and some innocent insensitivity will be moderated. Justice is the aim, and even a generous budget cannot achieve it. Unpaid volunteers cannot be expected to even pretend to be interested in every petty complaint. But play nice, suck it up when you hit some mod's go-button, and thank the community and staff for a comfortable place to discuss a wide but not unlimited range of topics."

I endorse this substance and sense. We accept the proposition that moderation is necessary, even without any kneejerk additional qualifying it as a "necessary evil." Necessary, period, and I think most appreciate it.

But I think it's been abused in the thread, Why do educational institutions dislike men? The thread has been locked, and I think it should have not have been locked. In it, Streetlight posted this, "Gonna need some stats here or this thread gets closed."
    And then this,
    "15 hours since my request for stats and none given, despite OP being active elsewhere. Thread locked."

I request the thread be unlocked. No doubt it will soon enough fade away. The reason not that the thread has surpassing merit - it has some and more than some - but that its closing, "locking," and reasons therefore an abuse of privilege outside the bounds of that privilege.
  • Hanover