• deusidex
    I'm a psychology student and I'm curious about the reason(s) why so many people on the right feel aligned with Peterson. I see people using incel language and the like (e.g. calling women as "females"). Now, it's not that I consider people on the "right" as incels but they do think of themselves as "rightists". Why is Peterson so attractive to the right? It seems to me that there are negative sentiments on him among leftists. So I'm just basically curious of the thoughts of him in here. By the way, I don't associate his viewership with incels but there are quite a "few".
  • Streetlight
    I don't think JP is so much as 'viewed' at all within philosophy, let alone viewed negatively or positively. Philosophers are apt simply to ignore him. They don't cite self-help authors any more than they cite Marie Kondo or the guy who wrote the Subtle Art of not Giving a Fuck, whatever his name is. It's not a left or right thing, it's an academic relevance thing.
  • deusidex
    It's interesting you said "self-help authors". I want to be a clinical psychologist and I wouldn't like to be seen as a self-help author. I mean, there are so many self-help authors for sure but how come a clinical psychologist is viewed as a person without training? It's also interesting how he uses Nietzsche and by him, it got more popular. By reading some of his fans I feel like pseudo-intellectualism is on the rise.
  • Streetlight
    Not all clinical psycologists are self-help authors but JP certainly is. From what I've seen though, he seems to have led a revival not so much in Nietzsche, but in Jung, whose name I hadn't seen brandied about since JPs rise to fame. It doesn't help that Jung is almost universally ignored as the kooky wing of an already seemingly kooky enterprise - psychoanalysis.
  • counterpunch
    I've seen a few of Jordan Peterson's videos. He speaks very well, and I agree with much of what he says. But I have significant problems with his overall worldview.