• jgill
    Well yes. It’s the difference between tossing a classical coin to discover if it lands head or tails, and knowing that if you toss one of a pair of quantum entangled coinsapokrisis

I was thinking only of a more mundane application of S's equation, with wave packets and probabilities of a particle being at a particular place at a particular time. But I have zero knowledge of the experimental mechanisms involved. So I should avoid talking about things I do not understand. :confused:
  • apokrisis
    So I should avoid talking about things I do not understand.jgill

I take the opposite view. It’s the fastest way to learn. :grin:
  • Gnomon
    Who wrote the "laws" limiting how far amateur philosophers can speculate, beyond the "revealed Word" of physical Science? — Gnomon
    There are few restrictions here. But when views are presented others are free to poke at them.
    jgill
    I agree. That's the whole point of putting debatable ideas on a public forum. Most threads on TPF have their pros & cons, yet manage to remain somewhat respectful, even though many of them go-off on technical tangents far from the OP. On this forum those nebulous limits are negotiated on the fly. So, elbowing, name-calling, poking-in-the-eye, and hits-below-the-belt are the price we pay for our freedom from rigid rules-of-order laws. Yet, some seem to believe that there are implicit taboo rules that all must respect. To which I respond, "where is it written?" I could poke back, in kind, with dialog-ending labels, but that's a low-class political tactic: "here's my response to your subtle argument : F.I.S.T."