• Deleted User
    it’s a somewhat humorous expression, with some truth to it. It’s not supposed to be a philosophical theory. But when I studied post-modernism, it came in handy.
  • Deleted User
    Sure. Love to hear more. I did discuss the definition of “real” in an early post.
  • Deleted User
    thanks. That’s a great wrap up of the issues I encountered with philosophy of science. It IS skeptical of science, more on political terms than philosophical it seems to me. And I agree with some of those critiques. But they represent the misogyny, racism and white privilege of the scientists, not the method itself.

And I think it misrepresents what the average scientist does. Which is simply going to work studying phenomena and ….doing science. I’m a lefty, for sure, but Phil of science displays a definite lefty bias and not all scientists are “complicit” in a hegemony.
  • Deleted User
    “if we want to define what’s real as what’s understood by science, or by empirical observations, that’s a choice. I wouldn’t do so myself.”

And you can argue there is no reality at all. This is another question I have. Why the anti-real, pro real argument in the first place?
  • Deleted User
    which materialists are cold-hearted and don’t believe qualia like love are important. Can you name one specific thinker and some of his/her writing?
  • Deleted User
    absolutely true. And those realities can be varied. I find Phil of sci often hesitates to name these realities. Here’s some that are never mentioned. I just find it telling that you’ll rarely find:

- curing cancer and all serious illness,
    - improving medical methods
    - finding methods of pain relief
    - Curing blindness, deafness, mental illness
    - ways to counteract climate change.
    - on and on

If this causes some eye-rolling, know that’s I’ve mentioned the inherent misogyny, racism and white privilege. And yes protecting the institutions. Although it implies that institutions are bad.