• Art48
    Let me see if I understand this. You’re making a distinction between the legitimate use of the word ‘is’ to make a statement about objective reality vs the use of the word ‘is’ to state a subjective preference, and your only concern here is with confusions between the two contexts that result in a subjective use of ‘is’ appearing to be an objective use?Joshs
    Correct.But I'll add that I consider many apparently objective statements to be subjective.
    Example: "The cat is on the table" -> "I see the cat on the table"

As a mathematician I must object to your example though. Saying 'two plus two is four' rather than the more formal 'two plus two equals four' will often lead to confusion. We just don't need 'is' in that context and it causes trouble if we do use it. The word 'equals' in mathematics conveys a relationship with a precise meaning that differs from that usually attributed to the dreaded verb 'is'.andrewk
    Good point and good response overall. Do you have a better example of a truly objective statement?
    What about "There is no largest prime number"?
    I consider that as a genuine objective statement (that is true).

Using it to express category membership (attributing properties) also seems harmless to me, and shorter than the e-prime alternative. Only the 'identity' and 'existence' uses cause serious trouble.andrewk
    I think attributing properties can be problematic, too, as in "That is a good movie"
    But maybe attributing to myself is OK. "I am feeling happy"

I have worked on minimising my use of the the verb 'to be' over the past few years and find it a really helpful discipline, with profound benefits.andrewk
    Yes. I think the book I wrote in mostly E-Prime is a better book than it would have been otherwise.
    But sometimes E-Prime seems awkward. For instance, the last sentence could have been
    Yes. I regard the book I wrote in mostly E-Prime as superior to what I might have written otherwise.