• Merkwurdichliebe
    But I don't want to derail the thread.Wayfarer

You are so proper. Come on... live on the edge...Do it!
  • Merkwurdichliebe
    its just marxism. You could do it if you had the patience, but I don't blame you
  • Merkwurdichliebe
    First, I am an artist who knows a lot of art history. So, I am interested in what art you do like, which seems to be 19th century art.Jackson

I'm an artist too. Yes, 19th cent art is amazing. Mainly, I like all art that has its foundations in the classical school. The only two art sites I visit are artstation and ARC. I also really appreciate graffiti. Sorry , I'm a bit of an art snob.

And please explain what you mean by, "in the ealy 20th century, the art world fell victim to slave morality." What does any art have to do with slave morality?Jackson

I mean that the market began determining what was good art. Now anything can be art, and all art is equal. Something like this could never happen in science, but philosophy is always at risk of this.
  • Merkwurdichliebe
    You mean Christianity?Joshs

Lol. That was closer to the third century up to about the 18th.
  • Merkwurdichliebe
    Lol. That was closer to the third century up to about the 18th.Merkwurdichliebe

I imagine there were people like me back in the 19th century who thought: if art does not depict Christian themes, it was inferior.
  • Merkwurdichliebe
    I should note I love Chalmers, even if this sounds disparaging. He's definitely one of my favorite living philosophers.Moliere

Really, that's intriguing. I've heard of him on TPF before, but never investigated. I just read a few things about him, very interesting!
  • Alkis Piskas
    Agreement? Disagreement? Why did that matter in the first place? Not sure.Moliere