• kudos
    First off, I am no expert of crypto-currency. I wanted to open the door to discussion or debate regarding the connection I see between the two technologies of crypto-currency and robotics, which Is here taken in a Marxist point of view.

Perhaps others may disagree, but these two technologies seem to have implicit in their concept the aim of replacing, at least to a certain level, the working class with an autonomous system. In crypto, instead of a discrete quanta of physical material such as gold, it is possible to create material from other currencies in the form of ‘mining.’ Presumably a bounded amount, but still this reduces the need for physical labour in resource extraction and instead places this work in an autonomous computer system. There is also a move from simple transactions mediated by a bank to a more heavily abstract form, which seems to be a further blow to working class simplicity.

In robotics there is a similar move towards reduction of the working class through replacement of their biological energy with electro-mechanical energy of the robot. These two technologies seem to offend the Marxist in me, as - please correct me if I’m wrong - for Marx a primary source of economic value was the worker’s activity themselves.

Do you think this initial impression matches reality or is a product of the imagination? I feel this in some way represents the real feelings of certain groups, which haven’t been able to give it their due thought.
  • Enrique