• Grre
    Hey everyone! I'm taking an Indigenous Women's History course this summer and I'll be writing a final paper for it in the next few weeks-the paper is open ended, it just has to be related to the course (Indigenous history/philosophy/Indigenous women etc.) This is my first time taking an Indigenous Studies course (I'm a final year Philosophy major) but I've studied intersectional feminist theory and related historical disciplines, so I'm likely going to be writing it on something to do with the role of colonization supplanting matriarchal Indigenous systems/beliefs and the devaluation of Indigenous women overall (very vague still, but I've only started the course this week). I'm also considering my paper to be a comparative study somewhat, between Indigenous epistemologies and the mainstream philosophical view of objectivity/Truth/rationality, which I've already written and studied before in my previous philosophy classes (mostly focused on the recent research regarding epistemic injustice, alternative epistemologies, and recognizing how Judea-Christianity underpins mainstream Western philosophy from Platonism all the way up to the Enlightenment). Or I'm considering drawing comparisons between the colonization of Europe by the Romans/Christians, the attendant witch trials (genocide) and the later colonization of Indigenous peoples.

As a non-Indigenous person who's only had a very passing introduction to Indigenous philosophies, I'm just wondering if anyone knows any good books/journals/thinkers that may be relevant to my search. Since this is so open-ended and I'll have to craft an original thesis myself (a task hard enough in my mainstream PHIL courses!) I'm really hoping to find some relevant material, preferably recent material and written by Indigenous scholars (to privilege the voices of the people I'm writing about). If anyone has any suggestions for resources, or even their own insight/thoughts I'd love to hear it!