• James Riley

To the extent a hinge proposition is presupposition that cannot itself be rationally established, defended, or challenged, that would be the value-free law. Natural law is justification, rationale, and reason behind the law. We used to actually argue that in court, especially in equity. Maybe that has become passé, I don't know.
  • Banno
    Meh. I was thinking more of hinge proposition as a foundation. If you are using "natural law" to mean "justification" then you are misusing the term "law". One can always ask of a law - and here I will explicitly include natural law - "is it morally good?" One ought not replace morality with circularity.
  • James Riley
    I was thinking more of hinge proposition as a foundation.Banno

I'm no expert on hinge propositions, but when I looked it up, they were said to be not rationally established, defended or challenged. That would be value-free law, not Natural Law. Natural Law is the opposite, as I addressed before in describing feelings, justice, values, justification and reason, etc.

Nor am I misusing the term "law." As demonstrated in the same post, Natural Law (justified) is not misusing the term "law." It's not addressing "law" at all. Law falls in line behind it; either that or it lacks reason. Who is going to say we have no reason for our law? Apparently the positivist. LOL! Good luck with that. If a law has no reason (no justification) then it can't be just and then there is no reason to obey it (other than the threat of violence). And who is going to say might makes right? Apparently the positivist. LOL!

One can and always should ask of a law "is it morally good." Doing so is not replacing morality with circularity. It's begging for reason, for foundation, for justification, for an answer as to why a law should be obeyed.
  • Banno
    ...they were said to be not rationally established, defended or challenged. That would be value-free law,James Riley