• Olivier5
    So how have you come to the conclusion you have, without any contributory evidence?Isaac

Because I studied physics, chemistry and biology, and those foundational sciences are currently underterministic.

Now, if you can prove that modern neurology is on the whole deterministic, please do.
  • Isaac
    Because I studied physics, chemistry and biology, and those foundational sciences are currently underterministic.Olivier5

OK then, let's have the nearest thing. What's the undeterministic theory of active transport across a cell membrane?
  • Olivier5
    What's the undeterministic theory of active transport across a cell membrane?Isaac

It's the theories you know of, I guess. None of them pretends that one can always predict any and all active transport.
  • khaled
    Whether or not you can practically predict it is different from whether or not it is fundamentally deterministic or random. I doubt any of those theories state that active transport across a cell membrane is fundamentally random rather than pragmatically so.
  • Isaac
    None of them pretends that one can always predict any and all active transport.Olivier5

Inability to predict is not lack of determinism. It's lack of sufficient modelling accuracy. Lack of determinism would need to propose a randomising mechanism.
  • TheMadFool
    The free speech dilemma is like the gun dilemma. The good guys know that they need guns (free speech) to defend themselves but to do that they have to risk guns (free speech) getting into the wrong hands. To ensure that the good guys are well-protected guns (free speech) are essential but for that the good guys must risk harm from bad guys with guns.
  • Olivier5
    Inability to predict is not lack of determinism. It's lack of sufficient modelling accuracy.Isaac