• DoppyTheElv
    Hi there!
    I'm totally new to this entire forum but have been lurking about for a small while. But in the while that I have been looking around, I have found several clues as to people disliking philosophy of religion.

Referring to the topics within as a waste of time and just bad philosophy. I as a 18 year old feel very attracted to the question of God and feel like I need to settle my mind about it somehow. It all started at the classic christian literalist arguments and ended up being way more open ended.

So my first ever question here is: Are people's dislike of PoR justified? Is there something wrong with the subset of philosophy? If so, why?

Also thank you @relativist for unintentionally leading me here! (Momo from RF forums.)
  • Pfhorrest
    I think that a lot of people here are tired of poorly-done philosophy done by a constant stream of newcomers with primarily philosophy of religion interests. That topic seems to attract that kind of person. But I personally don’t think there’s anything wrong with the topic itself, even though I too find that kind of poster tiresome. An interesting and well-reasoned discussion about philosophy of religion could be interesting. I imagine such discussions are hard to come by because people are generally irrationally attached to their religion, so eventually stop being well-reasoned in response to people arguing against them.
  • Daniel
    I think the idea of god stalls philosophical discussion since it "solves" many of the unknowns with which philosophy deals. In my opinion, you cannot do philosophy when you assume a supernatural entity is the main cause of existence. You can believe in god and do philosophy, but your philosophy cannot be based on the existence of god.
  • DoppyTheElv